Dilema

A

Hi all,

I have been battling with this for some time now. I am in the middle of an arts PhD, fully funded (gold dust in the arts) and am pursuing a topic that I really love. However, my supervisor has not given me ANY direction over the past two years and knows pretty much *nothing* about my subject. I had to chose her as a supervisor however as I had funding from this department and consequently had little choice.

It has also dawned on me that what I'm studying is quite a luxury and with no jobs available in the arts, I think it is something that is fun and I'd probably be doing in my spare time, but it feels increasingly ridiculous to be spending such a lot of time in my late twenties effectively in early retirement!

Coupled with this, I took three years out and worked in business (completely unrelated) and I see this as what I want to do in the future. I started a business last year and so far it is going really well and *this* is what I see myself doing. So I'm stressing as I have deadlines for handing in parts of my thesis this year, whilst what I should be doing is doing that part-time and spending most of my time focussing on my future. However, can I ask to go part-time half way through a year? If so, do I have to hand back a whole chunk of money?

I'm concerned as I want to finish the thing, but not at the expense of building my company.

What to do?

S

Though I can see your frustration at being in, as you put it "early retirement, I would suggest looking at the situation from a different perspective. You're in your twenties, doing something you really enjoy and are fully funded to do so. By the time you finish, you will be in no worse situation than you are now and the economy should be in a better position to start a business.