Dilemma over job

P

I had an interview yesterday for a seasonal job which I thought I would have a good chance of getting as I had worked for another department in the organisation doing a similar job previously. It's not a high level but would do to keep me going till I submit my PhD in the autumn. I thought it was four days a week which would give me at least two days to work on my thesis. However, it is actually full-time. I haven't heard whether I've got it but the interview went well. But I don't know whether full time would be too much - financially I can do part time and for the sake of the thesis this would be better. The real dilemma is that I have just seen another job advertised in the same organisation which is part-time and much more relevant to my studies and is better paid and is something I would want to do when I finished my PhD anyway.
So do I apply for this one as well. If I get offered the first one do I turn it down and say I want to apply for the other one. Or do I contact them now and say I want to withdraw from the first one. I think whatever happens I don't mind if I don't get the full-time one as I think it will be too much as well as doing the PhD. (I know people do work full-time but if I have the choice I would rather do part-time).

B

If it was me I'd withdraw from the full-time one, saying you can't work full-time, and apply to the part-time one.

This is assuming they don't offer the full-time one on a part-time basis of course, but that's probably unlikely, if they need a full-time amount of work to be done by somebody.

D

======= Date Modified 04 Feb 2011 23:07:50 =======

Quote From PamW:

If I get offered the first one I think whatever happens I don't mind if I don't get the full-time one as I think it will be too much as well as doing the PhD.