Do we have it too easy??

P

======= Date Modified 21 Sep 2009 17:04:04 =======

Quote From sneaks:

I actually did an 'about turn' just before uni - I was going to go to do music as everyone assumed that was what would happen. So I do understand the 'arts'. I still work as a musician so please don't imagine me in a lab coat poking people to get reactions!

I'm sorry for not remembering your discipline sneaks. But more generally my point remains.... sometimes disciplines cross-connect... it happened a bit on who's doing the weirdest PhD thread...

I think the two gentlemen have got it about right - it would be rubbish to have a tiered system where the rich get the best education. As a lecturer I know that departments are constantly fearing that someone will turn round and demand a 'reciept' for what they are getting in terms of education e.g. contact hours, essays marked in so many days, grades, personal tuition etc etc.

Quote From phdbug:

I'm sorry for not remembering your discipline sneaks. But more generally my point remains.... sometimes disciplines cross-connect... it happened a bit on who's doing the weirdest PhD thread...

Can I go back in time then, and put that psychology is a waste of time and a soft subject - at least it is my own discipline so I know what its like and can therefore be sure in myself that I know its not (I was merely highlighting a general perception)

Yeah, I've thought we'd all benefit from less of the younger population entering Higher Education - you don't need a degree to do office work, but these days you do need one to get an interview for an office job.