Does anyone know why I can't seem to land a PhD position??

L

Hi guys,
I'm new to this forum, and I'm posting because I've had absolutely no luck in getting a PhD position over the past year, and I'm completely at my wit's end as to why.

I have a 1st class B.Eng, scoring in top 2% of my graduating class. My uni isn't HIGHLY ranked, but the program is internationally recognized (Washington Accord). I did my M.Sc. there due to personal reasons, and I graduated with a 3.7 CGPA. I've been in research since my undergrad days and have published 15 papers including an invited book chapter; and in reputed conferences from Korea to Canada. My citation count is at 15.
I've worked insanely hard to fit everything in my CV from an early age. RA-ships, TA-ships, conducting engineering software workshops, a practical engineering job - heck, I've been in "side" published research with two other unis.

All this, and I cannot get a single positive reply for PhD. I never thought it would be easy...but I've written short emails, long emails, enclosed a proposal (I've written 3 different ones, with recent relevant references), reorganized my CV, tailor-made cover letters, you name it! I've emailed profs, giving them ideas on their own papers! My applications count is nearing 100 and NOTHING so far.
I've read countless articles about tips for cover letters, CV's, how to email profs, etc. and have reworked it all numerous times with different approaches: show-off, modest, polite, straightforward.

Does anyone have ANY idea what I might be doing wrong?? I'm literally near a breakdown :-(

I'm very sorry for the ranting post, but I joined because I really do need help. I've done everything I think I could possibly do alone.

I

Hiya,