does having a PhD qualify you to be a scientist?

V

Hi folks, my first post to the community... how many of us feel that not every PhD DESERVES to be a scientist and why?

S

Welcome to the board. I'm not sure anyone ever said that having a PhD automatically made you a scientist, did they? As per usual, depends what your area is. In terms of mine, as I'm doing science I would hope to be called a scientist. But then if I was doing a PhD in drama I probably wouldn't be calling myself a scientist. However, to keep peace and love on the forum, we can all be called academics (before anyone starts the arts vs science stuff again, which has be done too many times).

V

Hi..well , let me rephrase my question. I am a student of science, and I have seen many people around me who are also pursuing a PhD in a scientific field ...but when I look around, I feel that many of them should not be a scientist even though they may be intelligent enough but lack the aptitude needed for what science stands or used to stand for. what will be more beneficial for science?

C

It seems quite a general comment.
1) not all PhDs will do science afterwards
2) there are different working styles
3) I see a PhD as training and being at the bottom of the academic ladder with a long way to go

"lack the aptitude needed for what science stands or used to stand for"
What do you mean by this?

C

"what will be more beneficial for science?"
Different approaches and opinions so that theories are explored thoroughly enough to find out new information
There probably are a few "bad" scientists but I'm sure not everyone around you is!

H

A scientist is merely someone who has an interest in and as a consequence aims to learn about a particular science subject. Einstein was a postal clerk (no formal training), for example. I reckon anyone with a passion or interest in science deserves to be a scientist.

J