Does length matter?

B

:-)

Just wondering how long people's lit reviews are as a proportion of their overall word count. Am submitting in a few weeks and am starting to worry about these things.

Anyone want to share?

B

My first chapter (combined intro, lit review and brief methodology overview) was about 7000 words long. My whole thesis was about 70,000 words long. I'm a humanities student.

W

My original literature review was 97 pages long, but as a thesis is not much over 200 pages (excluding the appendices) and there's going to be 11 other chapters in mine, I think it's going to be about 10, 000 words.

I was hoping for so much more from this topic :p

I haven't written mine yet! but I do have about 6 or 7 7000 word separate pieces which I wrote early on, so I'm going to pull out the key info from them and hopfeully end up with a literature review that's about 10,000. I wouldn't be surprised if it goes over though, because I'm looking into so many areas that its hard to cover them all (which my sup has said I do have to do :-( ).

My hubs' thesis is 130 pages so far - in total. But he's maths based, so most of it is funny equations with lots of those sigma sign things - it looks like a blackboard of a nutty professor in a hollywood movie.

A

Sciences here, but mine is quite long for that, I'm currently at about 12000 and have been asked to include extra tables and stuff, so god knows how much longer it will be. Really would like to shorten it though...

S

I'm still in the research stage but mine is currently around 10k words and it will get longer - although looking at it some that is no longer appropriate will be removed. My thesis is supposed to be about 80k words, I've written drafts of 5 of the chapters which all need expanding and its around 60k in total so far! I'm hoping to keep it to about 10k to leave enough room for the data and analysis (I'm in humanities)

B

Thanks all.