Does the quality of university matter at master's level?

M

======= Date Modified 26 40 2008 12:40:52 =======
I graduated in 2005 with a 2.2 in Economics from the University of Sheffield . Despite this I've decided I want to self fund a masters and eventually pursue a PHD in Social Policy, I sincerely believe I'm capable and I'm confident I could perform well at masters level. I'm currently having a dilemma in deciding which institution to apply to. I'm torn between choosing a masters which is highly relevant for a research degree, the Msc Research Methods (Social Policy) at ******** which has 1 + 3 ESRC recognition. This would count as the first year of a Phd or choosing a masters at a 'higher ranked' university such as Sheffield or Nottingham. If I chose to do the masters in social policy on offer at either of these institutions I would only have a qualification that didn't have ESRC 1 + 3 recognition. I wouldn't mind studying a further year provided I could get funding.

What would leave me in a better position to apply for ESRC funding after finishing the masters? (Bearing in mind I have a 2.2 at undergraduate level). Should I choose a course at a more traditional university or choose the relevant course. Does anybody know if the ESRC prefers to hand out +3 studentship over 1 + 3? Any input in helping me solve this dilemma would be much appreciated.

D

Hi,