don't know what to do

J

Hi,

I need some advice. I have been doing my PhD for 6 months now and so far I haven't got very far. I am still not working in the lab full time. I am doing some lab work now but it only takes me a few hours a day. I haven't had a meeting with my supervisors for nearly 2 months. I keep emailing them but one of them never replies and the other just tells me the other one is off somewhere. I have reached the point where i just don't know what to do to fill my time. I don't see my supervisors on a daily basis as they work in a different place to me and there is no one in the lab who supervises me. I feel so lost and fed up. I don't know what to do and I feel like I'm getting nowhere. I really want to get on with my project but it seems like I'm the only one who is bothered about it.

Does anyone have any advice? as I am reaching the end of my tether!

S

Don't worry about it, just catch up on some reading, and write your literature review. Don't worry too much about your lab work as once you know the direction of your research you can do the lab work you require.

If your supervisors then say that they are not happy then point out that you are still new to the whole research idea, and that not having regular meetings is unacceptable, so perhaps they should take some of the blame.

Don't worry though, 6 months isn't that far in to your project, and it will soon work out and you will then have very little time to do anything except work!!!

J

thanks stu :)

J

yeah i def feel like i need to see them. I need some guidance on how to progress. I feel like I'm totally abandoned! One of my supervisors gives me the impression that they have no interest. :(

S

I know a PhD is supposed to be a self-study research project, but there is nothing wrong with seeing your supervisor and if they don't let you see them, then they are not taking proper responsibility.