Dropping out of a PhD programme as an All But Dissertation (ABD) - advice?

D

Hi all. I've been a long time lurker on these forums but this my first post.

I've been a full time PhD student at a UK university for 4 and a half years now. Things haven't gone so well for me and after a series of extensions, during which I have tried to get my thesis ready for submission, I have decided to temporarily walk away from the ivory tower until I can work things out.

Issues which have held me back;

1. A long term health complaint which I take regular medication for, but which evidently needs a small operation to fix which is proving hard to get done on the NHS. It will cost me around £8,000 to get done privately which is not the kind of cash an in-debt PhD student has lying around.

2. Supervision issues; First supervisor (the reason why I came to this particular university to study on this particular programme) is completely disillusioned with academia, rarely gives proper feedback, has been disinterested in my project from the go, and complains openly about how he wants to leave academia (even recently writing an open "I Quit" letter in a major education publication).

3. No second supervisor; I changed the focus of my research early on in first year and we agreed to use a different second supervisor for the bureaucratic side of things, but he then left to take a consulting role and I was never allocated a second supervisor. This is partly my fault though as it was made clear that I could find my own second supervisor from within the department.

4. My transfer from MPhil to PhD at the end of the second year was a bit of a disaster. My research proposal which was signed off by my first and second supervisor was trashed by the internal committee and I had to rewrite taking onboard their criticisms. My supervisor's advice? "write what they want to hear then just do your own thing again after they pass it."

Continues below......

D