Emails from Supervisors

R

I am just starting out on my PHD in literature and I have already discovered that pretty much every time I get an email from my supervisor it feels like every idea I've had and everything I've done thus far just isn't good enough and that pretty much everything I am doing is wrong. Do/have other people experienced this phenomena ? And how do you pick yourselves back up after yet another disheartening email?

C

I think a lot of academic emails are to the point and short on niceties. I would try to see it as a positive that your supervisor is engaging with your work and suggesting improvements - if they thought it was hopeless, they wouldn't do that.

T

I would try not to take it so personally because they probably don't realise the effect it has or you. Your other option is to address it directly and let them know how it makes you feel. I think this is very usual though - your supervisors are supposed to correct your work/give you alternative ideas.

A

Try not to let it get to you. These supervisors are very experienced (generally!) and have a good working knowledge of what it is your thesis needs. They help you shape the project and learn how to do so.

Academics don't generally do the compliment sandwich. They'll get straight to the point, words are time and it's just easier to write out what needs changing. At a PhD level, it is expected that you can take their suggestions and incorporate them at a detached level, not feel disheartened (though a difficult feat in itself!).