Employment Opportunites after PhD

J

I work in the food industry and there are several group technical directors who have PhD's (salery 60-70K). The only problem is that these types of positions are limited and need several years of experiance. But it does mean that if you represent the group they you do have more respect by being highly qualified. One person I know only uses his Dr title when arguing with other companies then it is like saying 'I do know what i'm talking about'

S

Adem, if you read my post again at no stage did I say I was in a PhD for the money - quite the opposite in fact. To re-iterate, I gave up a well paid (but soul-destroying) job in the real world so I could make a less well paid but (hopefully) more satisfying career in academia. Pay grades as they are in academia, it will take me 10 years plus in academia to get back to the salary I left behind. I went into this in full knowledge of what would happen. But life's too short for me being miserable and making other people rich, hence the career change. I've never regretted starting my PhD although I do worry whether this gamble will ultimately succeed.

Likewise, the other posts simply reiterate what I said earlier - unless that PhD has specific application in the commercial world (academia-aside), it is considered little better than a graduate degree.

H

I'm gobsmacked how misconstrued my original post has become!!!

What I mean is employment opportunities WITHIN academia, research etc, I really have little to no interest in working in business - why would you want to waste a PhD trying to make other people money???

As for earning potential with a PhD - coming from a poor background, I really have no need or desire to earn 'big money', never have. If you're doing it for money, you're very much in the wrong arena.

CONTINUED

H

CONTINUED