End of road with supervisors

L

Hi there,

Just wanted to write for the first time on here. I have just had 11 months of hell with my supervisors and it all blew up this last few weeks. I am presently waiting for new ones but I don't know what to expect or if indeed I will ever be able to repair the damage that has been done to my confidence or my research. Right now I am so confused I don't know whether I am coming or going with it.

I was allocated three supervisors and forced to go to group supervisions all the time where they were all supposed to be equal even though one was supposed to be my main supervisor - he said it was just a term. I was then left to figure it out what was expected of me. I kept bringing stuff I had done, to be hung drawn and quartered each time by one supervisor while the others just sat in silence. Everything I did was met with negativity or neutrality. I am a mature student in my mid thirties and I was a senior manager in business before and at every meeting I have been told that I am not a manager - practically drilled into my head by one supervisor who recently told me that all managers in my profession were ******. I would be spending 3 weeks preparing for the next meeting - for the battle each time. Afterwards whatever I brought I could have just binned there and then. After each meeting I would go into a depression for weeks unable to do any work. I told them that I wanted to change but I was told that I had to put up with it. Now 11 mths later I finally reached the end of the line. The dept are trying to find me replacement supervisors (2 this time not three) and one as a lead instead of equals. I am having to pick up the pieces and to realise that all these months that I have absolutely nothing to show for their supervision except bad nerves and a heap of bad memories. There was nothing constructive. I also have a pile of work that was neither here nor there. Not having done a phd before I wasn't sure if what I was experiencing