EPSRC funded at mediocre uni with new supervisor or self-funded PhD at a great uni with known supervisor?

B

As a self funded phd student, your supervisor might not care or give up on you. The supervisor risks nothing in loosing you if he is already famous and doesnt have to worry about research council funding. I was at cambridge and know many stories of people effectively being abandoned. It is also full of academic tourists who are attracted for the name.

Inexperienced supervisrors can be very crap. But they can be more commited and are likely to be supervising a project close to their core expertise rather than "branching out" projects

I am currently a student in London and the opportunities and activities are awesome looking across the breadth of colleges. University of London degrees have a very good reputation.

B

Also, Vision and computer Game AI will be very different fields of study. The former will most probably end up relying on difficult statistics (not every computer scientists cup of tea) whereas computer games usually end up being about heuristics, logic and prehaps human factors. Also you should consider how crowded each field is and whether you think you can make an impact.

S

The only thing that would worry me about the funded place is the supervisor. I would be very wary of a supervisor who had not completed his own PhD i.e. had not successfully negotiated the final submission phase. The fact that he has delayed submission would worry me. I would want to know more about him and if there other back-up advisors if youn need them.

But it is generally true that the bigger the name, the less time they have for you. And you are generally less accountable when self-funding because funding bodies hold supervisors acountable for late or failed submissions. I have noticed that, despite costing more, self-funders tend to take longer becaue there isn't the same external pressure to submit.