Everything is going well ... except me!

J

We're all in the same boat, it seems: it's good to have this forum to offload worries.

(by the way Corinne, we have even more in common - my real name is Corinne too)

S

I am in 2nd year!

As soon as I start feeling like I'm getting somewhere, I look back at what I've achieved and I can just see it isn't good enough.

C

Juno & SixKitten, we are a good team! We have a lot in common and it's nice to be able to give voice to our anxieties.I feel much better now. Thanks for your messages. Although the are many PGs around here I often feel isolated, so thanks to the Forum!

N

I can only relate to your situation. When I started my PhD last year, I didn't really have high expectations - I moved to the UK from abroad and my research project was not very precisely defined, so I decided I would just do an "okay 1st year" and not a good or a very good one. However I soon started to find really interesting material from my primary sources, I submitted several abstract proposals to conferences and nearly all got accepted, same thing with academic journals. My supervisors have rated my progress as very good for a first year, but now I can see they have high expectations on me (which they didn't necessarily have a year ago). Trouble is, I now have high expectations myself...

N

My family (though well-intentioned) are not really helpful: I have always had good grades without apparently much effort, sometimes even working FT at the same time or studying for 2 different degrees, and they say: "Oh, we're sure you'll cope with this as you've always done" (as if a PhD were like A-levels). Moreover, being on a fees-only studentship, I've taken 2 casual jobs to support myself (and have recently found out that I don't really need to work that many hours to support my lifestyle... though money is always welcome, of course).

N