Favouritism

G

I'm a PhD student doing molecular science. I'm a British citizen and graduated from Newcastle. However, I feel that my research colleagues are getting more support from my supervisors and hence getting better results. Recently they were supported for funding to a conference but I wasn't. I am beginning to feel a bit marginalised but don't really want to cause any hassle. Could this be racism, it feels that way?

G

maybe they just don't like you? i.e. you sound like a whinger

G

Favouritism and treating someone better because you like them amount to the same thing. Liking some of your colleagues/students more than others SHOULDN'T mean they are treated differently, but supervisors are only human... In all areas of life you will be faced with favouritism. I know what it is to feel marginalised, and to see many things day to day in my lab and university that seem terribly unfair.

G

Why don't you approach your supervisor about the conference thing first (you have a specific issue there, not something that's just 'in your head') - if you really believe you should have been given the opportunity to go, ask calmly why you didn't get funding. I reckon if they come up with a string of excuses you'll be able to tell, then you can decide what to do next.

G

You seem to be sitting there complaining and blaming everyone else, looking for discrimination. If you approach your supervisors saying 'I want to get better results, can you suggest what to try next' and 'I was disappointed not to go to that conference, what do I need to do to go to the next one' they will be far more inclined to help you than if you sulk and accuse them of racism.

G

Rob, My2cents, why are you giving Rashim such a hard time? You wouldnt want people to think you`re racist ...

G

Thanks for your comments. I'm no different from my colleagues but I just get this vibe. I will put the feelers out and see how things go.

G

To "ControVersial" - take your 2cents and shove 'em

G