fear of the defense, dissappointed about the thesis

A

Hi there,

I am supposed to hand in my thesis next week, or at the latest a week after that. I did a lab based phd and despite VERY hard work I got data that is difficult to interpret, and I find my arguments very weak. I am very unsatisfied with the end result for my thesis and very angry that I have spent 3 years to produce something of so little value. This makes me wanna quit, I feel my research is not worthy of a PhD title. Getting an extention is not an option. I already landed myself a job in the industry (:D) and I dont have the energy to pursue my PhD anymore. I find myself hiding under my desk and crying, screaming and breaking things...and the only thing that keeps me going is hoping that it will soon be over. Anyway, my question is: HAs anybody else been unsatisfied with the final product of their work. How did you prepare yourself for the defense? I fear that all the weaknesses of my work will be revealed and everything will collapse...

S

I too am due to submit next week, and would have prefered to have better results. It has taken months of long hours and self doubt to get them into a decent story - but hopefully its all defendable now!

At the end of the day you can still pass on negative results - what can you do - you've got what you've got - it'll all be over soon

Its difficult without knowing what your precise problem is - but I would think that as long as you can say - well okay it didn't work this way - but if time and money permitted etc I would have done this - Its not doubt harder to defend bad results than it is with a million peer reviewed journals but you gotta go with what you got.

Its always easy to look back and say 'if I knew what I knew now it would all be different'

Hope you feel better - stick in there - almost done

P

Identify all your week areas and defend them.