Feel I know nothing!! What should I do? Please help!

A

Hello everyone,

I am a Phd student in immunology, have been 1 month since I arrived here..
My motivation is high in the beginning but suddenly decrease after I know that I don't have enough skills required.
I was a medical doctor before I decided that clinical field is not suitable for me, then I choose basic science.
I really love immunology, I studied the concept from many textbooks but I know nothing about the experimental techniques..
Now, I am very afraid.. My supervisor pushes me to produce data soon no matter what happens, still my basic research techniques are lacking..

Do you have any suggestions?
or can you recommend a list of immunology or molbio techniques I should master ?
How long it would take for learning all of them?

R

Can anyone offer any advice to antonsumarpo?

Maybe you are just lacking confidence?

D

Unfortunately, I cannot offer any specific advice on immunology. However, I also started a PhD in an area completely new to me two and a half years ago.

I read many many publications to get a grip on the topic. I also applied British standards and ISO recommended methods. There should be detailed technical documents on how to do things and advantages and disadvantages of different techniques. My supervisor also paid for my training in a lab and asked for some help from post-docs in other departments. I was running around like a headless chicken for a few weeks :)

S

hi antonsumarpo