Feel like giving up, don't know what to do...

C

Pretty much as the title says really :(

Have never really felt passionate about what I am studying and more and more often now feel completely bored and miserable, totally lacking enthusiasm for it. I have no energy or motivation for it to the point that it is being reflected in my work and my supervisor has suggested that I will struggle to cope with the next few years and should consider converting to a masters (so far I have done just under a year).

But I feel like a complete failure by even thinking about giving up and there are plenty of things I like such as being responsible for my own time management, being able to take my own direction and having a great group of friends.

I just don't know what to do. I feel like I am letting everyone down and when I've discussed it with my parents get told I am mad to think about throwing the opportunity away when I only have another two years. Whats more I have no idea what I want to do if I do decide to convert at the end of the year.

Not sure what I'm hoping to achieve by writing and posting this except to see if I am alone or if anyone else can shed any advice or support as at the moment I have no idea who to turn to and am frequently coming home an emotional wreck :(

D

I'd be in a similar position. In that, I'm doing a PhD that holds no real interest and is very slow going which isn't helping matters. I feel angry that I couldn't get to study a PhD in the area that I wanted, especially since I know that the research is much needed. I felt even worse when I heard others had been allowed to study their interests. I was in a bind, needed an income and was told to pick one of the topics specified. I did intend to put my head down and work but feel let down by my supervisors and for this reason I'm losing motivation. I've went as far as possible but really need more feedback about certain things before I can make any real progress.