Few Questions Would Appreciate Answers.

G

Hey anyone who reads this, I ve completed a Masters and am graduating in December, i ve taken a bit of time off to save for a PhD. I have a few questions,

1. Is it possible to gain entry with a BA honours 2.1 and a MA of approx 60 (Dont have my results yet) in to a doctoral programme?
2. If your MA thesis advisor does not really have confidence in one getting into a doctoral programme should the student listen to him and give up or not throw in the towel?
3. Is it difficult to find a PhD course to suit?
4. Is it possible to do a PhD without funding?
5. Where are good places or universities to gain funding? (History, Theology or Philosophy) in UK or Ireland?

I realise these may be obvious questions to anyone in the know but excuse my ignorance.
Cheers
Raymond :-)(up):p

J

hi. iv just got my offer. still so excited. only read the email an hour ago :-)
1) it is possible to gain entry-yes. i have a 2:1 bachelors and a master of science (merit)
2) no-u do not give up. u dont throw in the towel becos he doesnt have the confidence. u can tell him/her to put his opinion+lack of confidence where the sun doesnt shine...lol :-)
3) i dont feel it would be difficult. but u should start researching the universities first. go on their website, check out the staff and their research interests. thats what i did. also their success rate, what on going support they have for their doctorate students. that was very important for me as i like to be part of the university eg going in regularly etc. the uni i did both my degrees in were very poor on the on-going support and i was actually told they have a high drop out rate. so i checked elsewhere, checked the staff profiles etc went for interview and just got my offer :-)
4) im going to do my PhD self funding.