Final year support thread

Z

Yes, I was advised to use the STAR technique when completing the application form! Previously, I have only used it during interviews rather than on the application form.

I am keeping my fingers crossed for you :)

T

Hello, this is my first post! I'm a final year professional doctorate student. It's been a really challenging year but it FINALLY feels like things are starting to come together. I have a 'submit-able' draft of 5 chapters (i.e. submitted to supervisors), and what I call a 'turd' draft of the other two (i.e. too crappy to send to supervisors, has some dot points and incomplete sentences, but essentially all there!), so it's really just a lot of editing left for me. My big stress at the that my secondary supervisor is heavily pregnant and has been sooo slowww returning chapters (we're talking months, not weeks). Of course I understand why she's slower than usual, but she keeps saying she will get to it and then not delivering. She's going on mat leave in ten days but thinks she'll still be working with a newborn. My primary supervisor is aware of what's going on but doesn't seem bothered. Sigh.

The other stress is that one of the requirements of my degree is that I have to complete a small applied research study on one of my clinical placements. It isn't included in the main thesis, but it goes in as an appendix. Long story short, I have had so many setbacks with this project, such as rejections from an ethics committee, two staff members resigning etc. I've been told by may people that none of this was my fault or forseeable, but the bottom line is my placement is about to end and I haven't done the project! I'm currently trying to lobby the department to let me meet the requirements of this component through a proposal but they are being difficult. I have another meeting this week and have my fingers crossed they are so sick of me they give in...

Thanks for reading :)

Z