Final year wobbles

S

Hello! I'm Michelle and I'm a PhD student or "lazy student" as my boyfriend jokes and I am just going into final year

My PhD story is simple enough, my carried out an undergrad project, supervisor for that poached me for " a wee project I think would suit you".  Admittedly it wasn't the project I wanted to go for but the supervisor had me go speak to the Prof and I was told I was to "do" that project should I plan of applying for one here.

I've bumbled on carrying out the lab work, but to be honest I never seem to get time to sit and read. I'm exhausted in the evenings and i'm lucky to stay awake after dinner.  I used to be very active before the PhD but I feel like a sloth now.  When I want to take a break I am made feel guilty, not by the supervisors (although it occurs on occasion) but the other PhD students.

I could write a thesis on my daily grumbles and how I feel different compared to others in the lab ( I have a clinical based project) the nail on the head came today when one student, who started with me said "what exactly do you do?"

I'm so frustrated, annoyed and unmotivated that I am turning into the "lazy student" my boyfriend described.

I just don't know what I am at. I feel broken and damaged - is this normal?

Can any of you help me?
I don't even know where to start writing ( and I had hoped the introduction would have been completed by the end of the summer)

Sorry for the rant, I just cant let this get the better of me and I don't feel like I have anyone to talk to about this that understands

:( M

W

Hi Shell,