Former Supervisors - Do I visit them after my viva?

I have my PhD viva at the end of next month. This signifies the end of a six year journey that has entailed studying both full time and part time in order to scrape together a measly amount of data that I may just get by on. Prior to this, I was involved in a separate PhD at a different university but had to leave after a year with a masters degree due to family reasons. My former supervisors were very controlling, but very adept and revered within their scientific discipline, which is fair enough. However, at the very end, they 'royally' fell out with me after I asked them if they wanted to be joint authors in a paper I was thinking of submitting using the data I had acquired with them. This was a very regretful and naive move I know, which generated a wrath of ill sentiment from the lead supervisor in a 'never darken this laboratory every again' type of way. They had been very supportive up until then, so it was a real shame the way things came out. I of course offered an apology, but it was never acknowledged.

Anyway, my question is, do I go and see them in person if I actually pass my viva next month? If I do 'do it', I have to turn up out of the blue, unannounced and into the jaws of the lion. I don't want to give them the opportunity to tell me where to get off if I start emailing them or writing letters for their forgiveness. Or, should I just forget the whole sorry business? I just want to thank them for their support in the early days, and hope there is no ill feeling any more, don't want to gloat or fling mud etc. Cheers, G x

I understand how you feel, but you know the situation better than anyone. Only you can gauge their probable response and it's your decision to make.

As regards asking them to be co-authors on a paper you submitted, I'd have worded that differently and instead asked them if it was okay to submit a paper using the data gathered under them.