General acomodation question?

W

Hello All!

Question for you......Now Ive got my PhD looking for somewhere to live, Im applying for university halls as manchester has some soley POstgraduate student halls BUT as a UK Postgrad I come somewher bellow an amoeba on the list of who gets places as all undergrads and all International students of any level get allocated a place First!!
So I wont find out till 2 weeks before I start If I have any accom!!

Ekkk!! So what I wann know is should I wait to start looking into private accom (I dont really wann get into hastle of shared bills an sharing with a load of people I dont know) or start now!! Does anyone have any experince of postgrad hall what were they like?

Thanks!

H

You should try one of the private halls:

http://www.accommodationforstudents.com/largerprivatestudenthousing/studentaccommodation_lphs_Manchester.asp

H

Waterbaby, when I did my MSc, I stayed in a private halls of residence which has specific blocks for postgrads. I shared the kitchen living area with 3 other people and had my own ensuite.

I loved it, it was the first time I was in such close contact with international students, not all of them want to stay away from people not of their own kind. In fact I made some really good friends and had a great time.

W

Hmmm had a look at that website some look OK but my from what I have seen of Private halls in the past not gonna jump in too fast requested a few brouchures!

I do still have mates in Manchester from my undergrad days so wont be a total billy no mates just didnt think living with them woul work as have totally different agendas an the council tax thing!!

Im dreading it if I dont get anywhere....I hate looking for accom it sucks an after 4 years of it im pretty picky!

H

Well if you already know people in Manchester then it might be nice to have your own place. No sharing kitchens bathrooms etc etc its great

L