Getting a job after your PhD? You're having a giraffe!

H

Quote From incognito:
Hi ginga,
I disagree with HazyJane, however, when she said that employers see you as potentially less equipped than BSc/MSc ppl: it all depends on how you market yourself vis-a-vis job specs.

I didn't express my point as well as I could. I agree that marketing is key. If, however, you simply rely on "I have a PhD therefore you must know I'm awesome" I don't think that will get one very far. Better instead to demonstrate how the skills and experience gained are relevant to the needs of the employer.

S

Hi ginga,

I agree that "nastiness" on the part of employers is often how job applicants generally (and not just with PhDs) perceive lack of response from employers to whom they've applied. Personally, I would stop short of describing it as "nasty", but agree that it's rude. How many times have we read "if you don't hear anything within two weeks, please assume..." yadah-yadah? Unfortunately, we live in the disposable era. Yes, the internet has empowered, but it has also degraded our treatment of others. Look at on-line social networking sites, where having 1000+ friends is seen as a badge of honour and friendship itself is degraded. So with on-line recruitment, i.e. employers vs applicants.

To be fair, with the job market being particularly rancid at the moment and with PhDs way outstripping the number of post-doc jobs available, employers are getting hundreds of CVs for every post. Whilst it still doesn't cost them anything (well, much) to notify applicants of outcomes, I do know that things like wrong font and spelling mistakes on CVs and applications are used to ruthlessly weed out applicants before their applications are even read.

I think HazyJane has hit the nail on the head in her responses...

Quote From HazyJane: