Have fallen sick, need to interrupt PhD.

B

Hi,

I am a PhD student in the UK from India and I have chronic hepatitis which had caused me to delay the start of my PhD by 3 months at the beginning. Now, mid way through the PhD, I have had another relapse of the disease and I am unsure of whether to inform my sponsors about my illness and interrupt my PhD as it is a highly pressurised project with strict deadlines as my sponsors are a German company. I feel really lost as I am obviously unable to work properly but I am scared I would lose the scholarship and the PhD offer if I were to take a gap of around 3-6 months for recovery. I am currently in India recovering, and trying to work as I do not want to lose the confidence of my sponsors and my PhD supervisor. I am even thinking of quitting my PhD and just recover in peace. I feel terribly lost. Please advise me in this regard. Thanks.

Arun

M

Quote From bobgeller:
Hi,

I am a PhD student in the UK from India and I have chronic hepatitis which had caused me to delay the start of my PhD by 3 months at the beginning. Now, mid way through the PhD, I have had another relapse of the disease and I am unsure of whether to inform my sponsors about my illness and interrupt my PhD as it is a highly pressurised project with strict deadlines as my sponsors are a German company. I feel really lost as I am obviously unable to work properly but I am scared I would lose the scholarship and the PhD offer if I were to take a gap of around 3-6 months for recovery. I am currently in India recovering, and trying to work as I do not want to lose the confidence of my sponsors and my PhD supervisor. I am even thinking of quitting my PhD and just recover in peace. I feel terribly lost. Please advise me in this regard. Thanks.

Arun

Hi Arun,

I sympathize. I also fell ill during my PhD - with physical and mental problems.