Hello, just introducing myself...

S

Having been pointed in the direction of this forum by fluffymonster, I've been visiting for the past couple of months and have found it to be very useful - phew, I'm no longer the only one feeling isolated, panicked, stressed, lost etc!

I just wanted to say hi to everyone here and I look forward to chatting with you (and most likely whinging a lot!). I'm in my second year of a full-time, fully funded PhD, in which (very broadly) I'm exploring young people's aspirations for education and employment in the North East of England. Very small-scale, in depth qualitative research, which is just the way I like it :) I worked in contract research before this, so the research skills themselves aren't the issue for me, rather the isolation of working for your doctorate - but it seems we're all in the same boat judging by the posts I've read.

So, that's me in brief - and I have lots of questions relating to my upcoming Mid-Point Progression, any advice will be gratefully received!

L

We are definitely all in the same boat!
I am kind of new to this forum and so far i have found it great! welcome!

F

Hello Suz, good to see you here. I thought I would be easy to spot!

Hope you find it useful, I have to say I have learnt so much from this forum, it is a fab place to be.

D

Hi there!!! I'm in my first year just approaching upgrade so sweating a bit at the mo!! I did my first degree in the NE (Durham)so I am reading your posts with a NE accent in my head! Welcome on board, I am a sporadic poster but read daily, lol x

S

Thanks for the welcome guys

Having read some of the issues other people have had, I actually feel in a pretty lucky position and shouldn't really whinge at all!