Help! I am unsure about whether to do an MA or Mphil

K

hi, I graduated a year ago with a first in an art based course and have applied to do a masters, but was unsuccessful. My tutor just found out that their reason for rejecting me was that my work was already too advanced for their masters programme, and they felt I was "well on my way already". She said she had heard this before, and that it was not an excuse by them. However, I really want to go into academia and therefore need a postgraduate qualification to qualify for lecturing posts at the right level. What should I do now? Should I look at doing an MPhil/PhD? Should I apply again for the MA and prove my committment and tenacity? Please help.

N

In most humanities subjects, you are required to have a MA before proceeding to the MPhil/PhD status. The MPhil is rarely a qualification people take for its own sake, more often than not you are required to register initially as a MPhil student and then, as your research progresses, you get updated to PhD status.

However, as you say you're a graduate in fine arts, I reckon there might be another issue here: is it that you have graduated from a very practical programme (i.e. few theory and lots of painting/sculpture etc), applied then to a "practical" MA, and now you want to have an academic career but more focused on the theory part? If so, I suppose that a "theory"-based MA would be useful to get acquainted with research methods, theory, history... (as opposed to a MA which is more practice-based).

K