Help - I'm lost!

C

I feel completely lost. I'm coming to the end of my first year and feel the same way I did at the start, but more worried about the whole thing. I started at the same time as another student with the same supervisor and he's getting on fabulously. He has a number of sites counted and seems to have no problems. I did an MSc and I feel like I'm lagging behind. He's in all hours and my trouble is is that I have just moved out from my parents, into a new house with my boyfriend, so I obviously want to spend time with him. But over the past couple of months I've started to loath coming in - i've been hiding the fact that I'm lost and its getting worse. I really enjoy my subject, but have a problem getting the data (I count and identify pollen grains)-I have no confidence in ID, so I'm not counting. I think I have some good ideas of what to do with results, but I need help getting to that stage. I have a meeting with my supervisor this afternoon, but I'm embarrassed to bring it up. What should I do?

C

Hi - sorry if I have scared you guys away. I guess I kinda sound like a lazy person who should just solve their own problems. I just need a little bit of advice. I know I have to do the hard work myself and I am quite prepared for that - I just don't know what direction to go?

C