HELP! INTERVIEW COMING UP!

J

hi. iv got an interview coming up in the next few days. having done my bacholors and masters at same uni, iv never branched out. i am now. i applied to 2 other unis. the uni i did both my degrees at and a different one. wasted time and effort applying to the different one, sending in references etc. they took a while trying to locate a supervisor only to give me the news that they had no one competent enough in my field of research to take me on (humanities). uni i did both my degrees at has just been a shambles- they never return emails sometimes for 2 weeks at an end. i just got fed up and checked out another uni a little distance from me, sent in my proposal and within a week, i got email saying come in for interview and meet potential supervisor. its this week! what is involved in the interview? what do i wear? i did my masters a year ago and i hope i dont have to slog over academic books for this interview? help!

J

QUOTE: 'i did my masters a year ago and i hope i dont have to slog over academic books for this interview? help!'

why are you applying for a PhD then!!?

J

main reason for me? self achievement.
when i say i dont want to slog. i mean - im taking this short time off as a time to relax before the hard slog starts. i have spent time perfecting an excellent proposal which i slogged over. i am just enjoying this time off until my doctorate starts when i know i will knuckle down and work hard for 3years minimum. That simple really!!!! im also spending this time working getting the money together for my fees (i am self funding)

J

ok... advice appreciated from anyone who's been through the interview or anyone who's conducted one etc. thank you x

J

It sounds like you have done the 'hard slogg' bit already then!