Help, leaving a PhD

T

I have been studying for a PhD for 3 months now, however I feel very demotivated and I am thinking about leaving. I applied for many projects last year but I only got accepted on my current project. I was in two minds about whether or not to accept the project as it was not entirely what I wanted to do. My supervisor has noticed something is not right and I do not know what to do for the best. I would like to apply for another project elsewhere (another institution) in another area I enjoy. I am worried about being "blacklisted" and that other institutions would interpret my leaving as undedicated and lazy. I am in a catch 22. Please Help. As anyone else been in a similar situation? Is it possible to get on to another PhD after leaving one?

Craig G

S

Hey Craig, I was in exactly the same position, although I decided after 6 months that I wanted to go, after being unhappy since day 1. Other unis are not overly critical of someone transferring, they realise that a PhD requires so much dedication that you must be doing something that you absolutely want to do. All I can say is apply elsewhere - be absolutely honest without slagging off your current uni - and just see what's out there. It doesn't matter if you stay or go, you just need options!

T

Thanks for the advice sleepyhead. I think I may have left it a little late for applying to other institutes this year. How did you break the news to your old supervisor? Was he/she supportive? What did you do about a reference?

S