Help me please!

M

Hello everyone.
I have my PhD viva in 6 days.
And I've just spotted a BIG error in a chapter of my thesis (I basically contricted myself in the silliest way). I'm horrified that I didn't spot it earlier- it makes me look like a total idiot.
I think the rest of the thesis is okay. Will I fail my viva because of this one mistake?
What should I do?
M

B

Relax. It doesn't sound that big an error. They always seem bigger than they really are at this stage. At the worst you will have to correct it post-viva in your corrections. You should be prepared to acknowledge the error in your viva, but simply say how you will easily correct it, along with any other typos that you and your examiners have spotted.

But don't worry. You won't fail because of this one thing.

M

Thank-you Mr Baggins.
The thing is, it wasn't a typo- just a stupid contradiction. I stated that anything less than 0.1 would be considered significant in my anlaysis. Then in the very next sentence I write that my result of 0.07 wasn't considered significant.
I really feel like I've just been punched hard in the chest. What a stupid, stupid oversight! I'm so terrified my examinors will take one look at that and write me off.

B

I know it's not a typo. You were clear about that. But it honestly isn't as bad a thing as you think. Errors spotted in theses always seem vastly worse at the stage you are at. Your examiners won't be majorly fussed. And you will not fail because of it. So take deep breaths and think calm thoughts. Be ready to acknowledge it in the discussion on the day, but don't blow it out of proportion.

And I'm a Mrs Baggins :) Well Dr Baggins. But Mrs will do.

B

And please don't go to pieces over this. Try to keep it in proportion. You need to be in as good a prepared state as possible for the viva. And that means staying calm. It's even possible your examiners haven't spotted it :p Trust me, they don't always read theses as closely as you might think.