Help!

M

Hi all

I need your thoughts and advice.

I applied to Cambridge for PhD law and was rejected. I'm really sad about it and don’t know what to do. :-(

Thing is, I have an offer from University of Wales and my professor at University of Warwick where I did my Masters has kind of mentioned it would be good to come back to Warwick. Also, my parents really, really want me to go for a PhD.

However, with the rejection from Cambridge, I'm thinking of postponing the PhD application until next year so I can apply to other schools like LSE, Graduate Institute Geneva and even Oxford (can't apply to start in Sept because I've missed the application deadline). I really want to a good university for the PhD and not just any average university.

Please what should I do? Should wait till next year and apply to the aforementioned school? Should I go back to Warwick? Isn't one of the points for undertaking PhD is to go to a university with sound research facilities? Am I too ambitious for wanting to go to top universities?

Please give you thoughts. Thanks so much!

Maks

H

Sorry to hear about your disappointment. It's often the case that applications to a few places might be needed however.

You are not in the wrong for aiming for a top university, although it's worth bearing in mind that there are excellent groups/departments in other universities.

I think you really need to think first and foremost about why you want to do a PhD though. You say your parents really really want it for you, but is this what you want? A PhD is tough and you can only get through it if you're motivated for YOU, not for what others want. Similarly being in a prestigious institution will be little comfort if it turns out the research environment you're in is not supportive and nurturing.

I would classify the considerations you need to make as follows:

(i) Priority considerations
- Does the project sound like something that would interest you for 3+ years?
- Is it (adequately) funded?