Helping out other PhD Students

A

Hi everyone,

I was just wondering how much time you spend helping out other PhD students?

I'm in my 2nd year now and while I have no issues giving advice to other PhDs, there is one member of my cohort who seems to think he can just place demands on my time. Because I don't want to disappoint anyone, I've helped out so far but today I feel a line has been crossed. I came into the office just to meet him and sit with him. He wasn't being gracious about it all, saying how he waited and wants to go home once we're done. Granted, he had contacted me over the weekend, saying he is struggling and experiencing issues with his supervisor and asking for my help. Initially, he had asked me to pop over to his house to help him on Sunday!

Where do you draw the line in terms of helping other PhDs?

T

I have also spent a lot of time assisting other students, but I have to say they seem a lot more appreciative than the person you are talking about as they recognise that I am doing them a favour and it's not a part of my job to help them.

I think I've been lucky in that I have since really needed their help too and they have really gone out of their way to assist me but I understand that not everyone is like this.

Some weeks I have spent at least a day helping others, some weeks I don't have to help at all, so it's really hard to give an average amount of time.