Hi I'm new, and a bit stressed

F

Hi, I'm new to this forum and like the title says I'm a little stressed.
I am doing my PhD by publication. I have 2 papers accepted 1 under review and 2 in the stages of drafting. I am hoping to submit at the end of the year, so I'm also working on my linking chapters (as I will use my papers as 'chapters').
But I seem to be having a massive crisis of confidence. My sup has no positive words to say (ever) about my work and basically re-writes everything that I give her - not changing the ideas, but just changing the words to her style (eg, changing 'while' to 'whilst').
Today, after sending her an article 3 weeks ago to have a look at (she said that she would have it back to my in 5 days, but whatever), she tells me that "It needs a heap of work. Hopefully will only take me a couple of days" :-( Why does she say things like that? Why not say 'it is looking OK, lets talk about it.
I am normally a confident person, but her constant criticism, not constructive at all, is starting to get me down.
Sorry for the woe is me post, just needed to get it off my chest.
Thanks

haha, Are you me? but with a better publication record???

I'm in the same situation (although my supervisor has no idea whether I am doing a PhD by publication or writing up a thesis AND publications) I have 2 ready to submit in the next 2 weeks and writing one up.

She does the same - I send her it and it comes back COMPLETELY changed, but just the style and order I've written things, not the content. And with nothing constructive, with it just changed.

I can only think that she is desparate for me to just get the papers out and this is the quickest way. She has seeveral other students who have taken nearly a decade to submit their thsis, so I think she's pushing me and she thinks the best way is for her to turn around the papers ASAP.