Horrible decision - job or family?

S

Hi everyone,
My dad just rang to tell me that last night my grandmother died. We had been expecting it, she has had Alzheimers for about 8 years, and spent the past two weeks in hospital following a collapse at the home where she lives, and I went to see her in hospital last week. The thing is, this Sunday I am due to fly to San Francisco for an academic conference. Its the largest in my subject area (ISA), highly prestigious and difficult to get accepted as a PhD student unless you are invited to be on a panel (my supervisor asked me to participate). Should I stay for the funeral or go to the conference? My dad (it was his mother) presumes I am still going, but I don't think I should, even though my Uni has paid a lot of money for me to go and like I said, I only got in because my Supervisor arranged it.
What would you do? I'm in my 2nd year if that changes anything.

H

Sorry to hear about your grandma sleepyhead. Don't worry about the money side of things, the university should have travel insurance (if they don't they should be shot!) so don't let that influence you.

Does this conference happen yearly or only every few years or is it a one-off?

It really is up to you, maybe talk it over with your dad. I don't think anyone on here will want to say to you to stay or go.

S

I had the exact same thing with my grandad (cancer) and I chose to go to the conference.

I justified it, because I had seen him a lot before his death, and in my own way made peace with the fact he was not going to make it, so we got the chance to say anything that needed said

I have no regrets about not going to the funeral -

The only thing for you, is how you will cope not being there? funerals are more about family and being together to support each other through hard times etc. But in long term illnesses it isn't as bad and with some illnesses it can be a releif that the suffering is over.