How easy is it to transfer your PhD to a new institution?

S

I am doing an education PhD in a European country that is meant to be a world education leader (family circumstances caused the move from UK). My mandatory studies are now complete, 1/4 articles published (2nd under submission) ... things should be rosy right? ... Wrong :-(

I am pretty well published anyhow, 5 yrs experience as an HE lecturer, various qualifications & fellowships - but no PhD. I applied to speak my local university about my research (which I had been publishing for @ 4 years previously), based on their published departments, aims & interests. Also, their supervision policies were available & talked about support, integration, funding etc. Looked great (& convenient). A year later I get a reply - no appointment to discuss, just a letter of acceptance. I figured that as I had waited this long (they did not respond to the reminder), I may as well take up the post. I get there to find that the research group I was interested in had actually ceased to function (but was still advertised). The other 2 departments had no interest in my work, and I was assigned a supervisor 'because they were the closest to my field'. The programme was not-specific - here are 3 mandatory study areas worth X credits in total ... pick some of the available study classes that fit the description, tick the 'done this, done that' boxes, then all that's left is 4 papers & the diss.