How Long to Write Up?

M

How long does it take on average to write up?

Also what level of support would you expect?

I have been trying to write up since October but I am not going anywhere particularly fast, I have about 70 pages now (including large diagrams/graphs) which is about a 1/3 and I was hoping to have finished by the end of may. It is obvious now that is not going to happen now.

S

I'm a scientist - I'm hoping to write up in about three months???! I don't expect any support - don't even expect anyone to read the thing...ever

S

I was kind of hoping for a west-end musical for mine, but the hollywood idea is a nice ambition

S

I can assure you it won't be.

I might base mine on 'the lion king' musical, that was awesome

S

Yes, I know, just shows how badly I underestimate things. Even walking to catch a bus - I never leave enough time...

W

I have just submitted my first draft. waiting for my mock viva in 15 minutes.

I took just over two months to write mine but that was because I spent time writing a state of the art paper (it got accepted) for two months before that and it then turned into my literature review chapter.

I think the literature review is the biggest job in the thesis. After that perhaps your methodology chapter is the next big job. Then it is just you justifying your work. If you did the work and know your research inside out then the writing should follow painlessly.

You just have to stay motivated and continue writing even when you get bad comments on it.

S

Liar...Lol

W

Had my mock viva yesterday. Firstly the mock examiner hadn't read the thesis so was only able to comment on high level issues and part of the analysis. So the mock viva was not very representative of the actual thing. Quite useless and not worth the preparation I put in.