Humanities students / Advice on research, writing, "process"

B

Hey there. I'm in my second year of a PhD in English. I started late in the first year, so I've only been matriculated for 13 months, but for practical reasons I must submit in September 2012, so 18 months to go. I'm a mature student: left a good job to work on a particular area of research that I had been fiddling around with on my spare time. Went back to uni, did a master's in another discipline as preparation (it's an interdisciplinary topic) at another uni and am now doing a Phd. I love my research idea. I've very excited by my findings so far. But I'm struggling, struggling, struggling with the expectations that I write chapters as I go. I don't have a clear enough thesis to do that well yet. My texts range over nearly a century. Some have been heavily studied by various disciplines (but I disagree with much of the treatment, so there's an iconoclastic element to my work that is potentially dangerous) and some totally ignored (so I'm sometimes dealing with texts whose context needs to be researched). The interdisciplinary nature of my work is not a perfect fit for the Uni I'm at, so I'm kind of alone, intellectually. (Nice place, otherwise.)