Humanities thread

R

Nice thread !
I am currently a Ph.D candidate, meaning I have not started my classes yet. Anyways, I will be studying some field in Linguistics 8-)

C

I'm also in my first year and only about two months(ish) in, but feel so behind already! :-) . I want to be prepared before the storm hits! I'm studying 20thC Am.Literature, but I think I've spent more time decorating my study room to make it comfy to work in (procrastinating in other words ;-) ), than actually doing any work!
I'm sure it won't be long now for that feeling of urgency to re-appear it's ugly monstrous-like head and shake us up a bit, and when it does I'LL BE READY TO SORT IT OUT GRRRRRRR! :-s ...... actually, come to think of it, the monster looked a little bit like this snowman here.. (snowman)  hmmm.

C

The body of a (snowman) and the head of a (robin)

M

I'm in! I'm in the second year of a classics PhD (hopefully, if I ever get my upgrade chapter finished!!).

C

Hi everyone, hope you're all happy and working hard.:-)

I have a question and I was wondering what others here think. How long does it take to write a good, solid 5000 words for submission? What's the expected time frame that the supervisor will allow you to complete roughly this many words?

Also, (because I have to submit 30,000 by the end of this year), what's the 'expected' amount of time to give yourself to go over all the work/drafts to perfect them? I've allowed myself 3-4 weeks. Is that too much or too little?

C

I am a few months away from completing a thesis on C18th British history (robin)

M

======= Date Modified 17 Dec 2009 10:07:24 =======
Cobweb: if you know what you're writing about, I'd say a week to write 5000 words. 900 words a day (sometimes less, sometimes more) and then one day to edit etc. That's how I work any way. It usually takes me longer to research/gather my thoughts etc though.

Is 3-4 weeks to redraft 30,000 words? I think that's plenty of time xxx

M

Quote From chrisrolinski: