I graduated this year with a low 2:1 in Biomedical sciences

H

======= Date Modified 15 53 2009 22:53:26 =======

Hello, I hope you can help me!

I graduated this year with a low 2:1 in Biomedical sciences ( I had a first for my lab project/dissertation). I didn't score too well in my final exams, mostly in the 60s, one module I got a 50% in. I reallly reaalllly realllly want to do a phd. I didn't manage to secure a phd for this year. The advice I received was that I shouldn't do a masters because I already knew I wanted to do a phd. Hence, I dodn't bother applying for a masters. Now I'm stuck applying for phds, I have a crappy job which isn't relevant to what I want to do (not a grad job even).

I feel like I've lost a really important year. I want to be starting a phd this year and I'm not even sure if I'll get a phd for next year.

So my questions are as follows:
1. should i apply for a masters and a phd for next year?
2. what should I be doing NOW to increase my chances of getting onto a phd.
3. Is the masters worth it? Will it increase my chances?

I feel a bit depressed, I was predicted a first in my degree because of how well I did in my previous years. I have glowing references from my tutor and supervisor. I just don't know where to take things from here.

Thanks in advance

Harry

C

Hiya Harry,