I guess it is not another interview question!

P

As the subject indicates.. i have an interview in next three days and surprisingly it is over the phone. I am a student living in the UK. I thght I would have face to face interview as it has many advantages. I have worked on my intonations all these days and try to get right tone at right time..I am bit worried because it is only words through phone that is going to decide my future. I am really keen on this project. I have read some of the topic, but there is loads more to read. I was expecting a face to face interview next month end, but they have stumped me!!Any suggestions!!? How many of you had telephone interview for your Phd (not studentships)!!??

S

I may be wrong here, but I think it shows that your future supervisor cannot be bothered to set up a proper interview. Perhaps you should offer to go there, instead of a telephone interview, it would at least show your determination

S

Or maybe avoid the supervisor and project altogether. I wouldn't want to take on a supervisor who, from the very start, couldn't be bothered (if what you think is true Stu)

S

Do you agree with what I think then?

W

Maybe it is just the first stage and you might be asked to go to the university later if it goes well? If not and they offer you the place I would def suggest asking to visit in person and meet your supervisor, other PhD students etc.

S

I wouldn't read too much into it. I got offered my position without an interview. I wasn't exactly interviewed over the phone per se, but the long phone conversation I had with the supervisor went a long way to getting me there.