I have a job interview!

S

Hello everyone! Haven't posted in ages, but now would appreciate any advice. I have a job interview for my dream job! It's a research job in my area, where there are never jobs, but now this one has come up.

I have to give a 15 minute presentation on 'my central achievements, my research, and where I see it developing over the next 5 years'. Then I have to do a 45 min interview. The panel is made up of 3 professors generally in my area, a statistician in a completely different area, and a hard sciences professor - I'm in social sciences.

Any tips welcome!! I've done loads of non-academic job interviews, and know how to prepare and present myself well, but have never done an academic interview. Thanks everyone!

R

Hi Sue,

congratulations regarding the interview! Sounds like an excellent opportunity! Well done!

Like you, I have plenty of experience in interviews for professional jobs, not so much for the academic ones. I do, however, know quite a few professors personally and they are just like "normal people". They like enthusiastic people, who are to the point, accurate, but also enjoy it when things are funny and when one can have a laugh! They like people with whom they can work.

As such if I were you, I would stick to the areas you are good at, for example your PhD, perhaps also your experience in civil service work, soft skills, like your presentations skills etc. I would not pretend to be an expert in everything and would acknowledge that I would have still a lot to learn, yet would be happy to work with them and learn. :-)

======= Date Modified 27 Aug 2010 15:04:08 =======
======= Date Modified 27 Aug 2010 15:03:45 =======
Hi Sue, that's wonderful news, congratualtions! Good to hear from you again too.

I recenty had an interview, and although I didn't get the job I did get some pretty extensive and useful feedback, both before and after the event: