I have completed the application to transfer from mphil to phd but i want to now complete the phd at another university, is it possible?

H

Hi all, I have just submitted my chapter and application to transfer from mphil to phd to my supervisors. I really want to complete my PhD but would like to complete it another university in the same area. It is because I actually have 3 supervisors and to be honest i have never clicked properly with any of them. I am also a self-funded student, who has decided that life is too short to not enjoy the project, and am really keen to go to another university a few miles away. Is this possible, I mean once you have submitted your application to transfer to PhD at your own university, does that affect it? and does it look really bad on you if you do transfer? Thanks a mill for your help!!

R

Holiday,

my advice is do whatever makes you happy. You have your own funding and have passed your transfer exam, in which case you have demonstrated satisfactory progress toward completing your PhD, so your chances sound quite good.

I would recommend discussing this with someone in the department: like a tutor or graduate advisor, then approach your supervisors.

they should be able to offer impartial advice and help you explore all your options, not just the transfer option. You may be able to reconcile your differences with your supervisors. if you can't do this, the department should be able to provide a reference supporting your application to the university you want to go to.

R

Have you contacted a prospective supervisor at the university you want to transfer? you would want to be quite sure that there is a supervisor that can accomodate you at this new univeristy before you start making noises about transfering and also that the department will have no problem approving your application

H