I'm having problems with the admin side of my PhD - it's an information black hole

C

I'm a part-time student (working fulltime with a family) and the university I'm at can't cater for it. I'm in my 6th year, with a complete thesis. But I have an outstanding 'training course' I should have gone on in year 1. Have tried several times to defer it, have sent countless emails and forms into a void. I know when I submit this is going to come back to haunt me. My supervisor left last year and I have 2 new guys who keep pushing me towards changing my approach. I get no information from them on any of the admin requirements, the admission office is useless. I have no idea what requirements I have to fulfil. (I also have some outstanding fees - admittedly this is my fault).

I don't want to ditch everything at this stage but I'm thinking I'm just going to run into so much hassle come March/April, and may end up being told I can't submit. Is it an option for me to ditch the degree and then look to fast-track the same thesis somewhere else? If it hasn't been submitted and the title changes, does the university have any claim on intellectual property?

O

I don't really see the problem you have with your existing university. Surely, there must be some regulations which clearly outline the requirements to submit a PhD thesis; both with regard to format etc. but also with regard to training courses.

I strongly recommend to attend the remaining training course, to pay the outstanding course fees as soon as possible and to stop putting yourself into trouble.

Regarding your idea to "fasttrack" at another university, my simple advice is: forget it.

C