"I'm just an average PhD student"

L

So I have been told this by my supervisor. It's left me feeling somewhat depressed (although I know this is the truth) - I have never been told that in so many words.

Also I have a feeling that he is kind of sick of me. My project is dragging on and I think that he would rather just get rid of me, although I haven't really done anything to deserve that. He mentioned that converting to masters by research would finish my project quicker - "not that he is suggesting that". He is generally a nice person and wouldn't really say so in so many words but I just have this bad feeling. I don't want to be a burden to anyone but then again it's PhD or nothing for me. Any advice??

G

Tell him he's 'just an average supervisor', and see how he like's them apples .

L

Oh I will, I know people that he is friends with in the department so I will mention it to them knowing fully that it will get back to him

B

A think its worth breaking down what "Average PhD student" means to you. On one hand, PhD students are supposed to be some of the best graduates out there, so you could see it in the same light as "Average SAS soldier" or "Average Topgun Pilot", which doesnt look so bad.

I suspect your reaction may be symptomatic of something deeper though, a desire to be seen and recognised as "the best" in some way. If this is the case I think you should explore this, as its a fairly surefire way quick route towards guilt, misery and burnout.

Remember, most PhD students (50% if you use a bell curve) will be average. 25% will be below average and 25% above. At least you are not in the bottom quartile.

L

Badhaircut,

You have something there. I just have this strong feeling that I can do better, am capable of more and that my supervisor is underestimating me constantly.