I'm thinking of changing PhD projects and universities

L

So I'm in my second year of part time study. My project here is still very vague and I feel like I have no direction. While I get along well with my supervisor, he is extremly busy and just doesn't have the time I need from him. He only cares about his own career, and my progress as a PhD student in terms of how it will affect his career. I mean, he wants me to complete it but he doesn't care if I do publications/conferences along the way or if I'm going to have any job prospects later on.

There are 5 students in our department and I'm the absolute worst out of them all. They all have at least one publication and/or conference appearance and some have been there shorter than me.

I also feel like most academics don't take me seriously as I'm the only girl in male dominated enviroment and I like to dress up/take care off my looks. So I feel like my proffesional capabilities are underestimated.

L

I'm thinking of emailing other universities and seeing if they have any funded projects available. I'm just not sure if this is the case of "the grass is greener" as in I might have even worse problem with new supervisor/place. Other disadvantage is that I have done some work here and would have to start all over again on some unrelated project.

Any advice please?

M

Try talking to your advisor or postgraduate tutor.
I am in the same situation, even though im in the 1st year of my PhD. It is really frustrating having a supervisor who cares only how to cover his back. There is this super-project that he is working on with another PhD student and me working on "something" that he does not want to put any effort at all! He works in the same office with this PhD student and whenever i have a meeting with him we are all 3 together...knowing that they make so much progress together makes me feel totally worthless...