If I can't work now, how will I get a job?

M

I'm struggling to write my PhD thesis. I'm procrastinating, getting stressed out, and taking sleeping pills so I can black out and forget the fear and panic. Lately I'm not very productive most days, and I keep thinking that no employer would stand for such a low work output, the only reason I get away with it is because I'm a student.

I'm really worried about whether I could handle a full time job, given that I can't even write my thesis, let alone do a proper job. This is creating intense stress, because I'm really worried about the rest of my life - I'm quite obviously some sort of lazy retard who is incapable of knuckling down to work, and if I can't write my thesis how on earth will I handle a job?

I feel like my whole life is pointless - writing the thesis is pointless, because I clearly won't be able to get a job afterwards. I mean, who am I kidding? I'm incapable of even writing something, let alone working for a living.

First of all, do the sleeping pills make you drowsy during the day? I take sedatives for pain to sleep at night and I can definitely say that I don't often get work done until after lunch because i'm so drowsy - and then I eat a big lunch and feel sleepy afterwards too. So maybe the first step is cutting down on those i.e. only take half a pill for a while and then a quarter, until you don't rely on them in order to switch off.

Secondly, we ALL go through periods like this, I think my whole 1st year felt like this. The only advice I can give, is start by doing 15 mins work. If you want to stop after 15 mins, then fine, if you want to carry on, then that's great.

Try and use a tool like mytomatoes to focus you on work for a set period. Use rewards for getting work done. And make sure you have a list of things that need to get done. All to often I spend days not doing anything, because actually I don't have a clear idea WHAT I need to get done anyway!