If you cannot meet your thesis hand-in deadline can you sue for your right of Submission?

F

I have been doing a computer science phd for nearly six years full time, and my phd didn't properly start until after three years, well into extension time. The reason is because my supervisor initally told me to do experiments for which i could find no scientific basis or motive, thus wasting my first two years. Worse,arguably neither he, my second supervisor, nor my school of computing had any relevant expertise, publication or teaching experience in the general field of my phd.

The upshot is my phd didn't start until after three years. Now i am in a good position to finish but I will submit at least three months after my 'last ever extension deadline' and feel both angry and nervous about this. I don't trust my supervisor at all, he has a terrible reputation because of putting previous students in similar situations and has decieved me throughout the process.

If the university turns around and says they won't accept my finished thesis when it is handed in three months late, can I legally challenge them? or should i see a solicitor now, three months before my deadline expires but risk upsetting everyone, including my only supervisor?

L

i am in a very similar situation as you!

i was given a letter by my uni to tell me to submit by sept 30th, or i will fail by default.

if i dont submit a thesis, they will terminate my student registration and i fail by default.

legally, a phd student is given 8 years to submit.

my 8th year is up exactly sept 30th.

my first year was discounted, i had to start again in my 2nd year, then the next 3-4 years were wasted on another crappy project, i only really started my phd, in 2005.

L