In 3rd year and want to quit!!

L

Is anyone in similar position? Any advice?

I'm in 3rd year. Funding runs out in 6months. Experiments are all going wrong. Run out of time to do what I originally intended. Don't have valid reason for doing what I have done (ie research is meant to fill gap in literature - all i've done is preparatory stuff and nothing that is really new.) Hate PhD.

The stuff I have done I haven't done well. I am using techniques that others in my lab use, but I just can't get them right, so my data is useless.

My experimental work took wrong turns - mainly due to my lack of experience and lack of supervision. my supervisor has had 2 x 6months of maternity leave!!

My supervisory committee's suggests try writing up and submitting and see what happens - a bit of a longshot and alot of work. I don't even know where to begin my thesis and spend so long doing experiments each day I don't have a life, let alone time for reading or writing.

I am getting really depressed, lost touch with friends/family. I dread every morning.

V

Sorry to hear about your troubles, sound like a very depressing situation. Do you have anybody who understands what you are doing in your PhD with whom you could discuss your situation in less formal atmosphere?
And talk to your relatives and/or friends or professional (maybe you have counselling service in your university) about how you feel, you need lots of support but to get it one needs to ask.
hope you will be better soon.

K