In search of a PhD, so many questions..

R

Hi all,
I am keen to start a PhD in 2011 but know little of the procedure for securing place. I really need some advice!

The first problem is I am looking to do a PhD in Psychology but I don't have much of an academic history of studying Psychology. I have a BSc in Environmental Bio (with psychology as a minor) and a MSc in Energy and Environmental studies. I became interested in the psychological elements of environmental protection during my masters. Does it matter that I only have limited previous experience of psychology?

Next question, is the formation of a PhD question a collaborative thing between student and supervisor, or should i fully decide on what i wish to investigate before approaching a supervisor?

What is the application procedure? Should i apply for funding from the ESRC and then apply to a university or visa versa? what time of year should applications be made?

On what criteria does the university decide to accept or decline an application? is it based on the academic record of the student or their proposal?

Finally, (for now!) does anyone know anything about the new route PhD? It looks very interesting but the fees are very high, does anyone know whether funding is available? Is it harder to get for the new route PhD?

Any help would be extremely valuable to me, I feel ever so lost.

M

Hiya,